Graduate School Award Presentation Ceremony 2018

A total of 66 research postgraduate students of various disciplines received awards on December 12, 2018 (Wednesday) at the Award Presentation Ceremony organized by the Graduate School in Rayson Huang Theatre, HKU. The recipients were selected based on the quality of their thesis and academic performance.



Officiating Guests, Supervisors and Awardees of Li Ka Shing Prizes

It was delightful that Dr Alan Yu (Member of the Court), Professor Xiang Zhang (President and Vice-Chancellor), Professor Andy Hor (Vice President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)), Professor Mee Len Chye (Dean of the Graduate School) and research student supervisors have come to share the joy and honour with our awardees at the Ceremony.



Professor Xiang Zhang commenced the Ceremony with an opening address, which accentuated the high value the University places on research postgraduate education and recognized the collaborative efforts of staff and students, together with the generosity of donors. The University Postgraduate Fellowship (UPF) is generously supported by the HKU Foundation, the Jessie & George Ho Charitable Foundation, Dr Lee Shau Kee, and the Philip K H Wong Foundation. Since the launch of the UPF Scheme in 2007, 489 outstanding students have been awarded Fellowships. This year, 50 new full-time PhD students with excellent academic records have received the Fellowship from Dr Alan Yu, Member of the Court.

10 students who have submitted a thesis of exceptional quality and demonstrated outstanding performance in other academic aspects received the **Award for Outstanding Research Postgraduate Students** from Professor Andy Hor.

The highlight of the Ceremony was the presentation of **Li Ka Shing Prizes** to two MPhil and four PhD graduates. The Li Ka Shing prizes are highly competitive and the winners are considered the elite of the School's students. The winners were judged to have submitted the best MPhil and PhD theses in the Humanities and the Science Faculty Groups respectively.

In addition, awardees who have received external prizes, such as the Hong Kong PhD Fellowships, Croucher Foundation Fellowships/Scholarships and Three Minute Thesis Competition Awards have also attended the Ceremony and received the certificate of recognition from Professor Mee Len Chye.

Let's take this opportunity to congratulate our awardees once again.



A group photo of the officiating guests and all award recipients