Graduate School Award Presentation Ceremony 2017

A total of 66 research postgraduate students of various disciplines received awards on December 13, 2017 (Wednesday) at the Award Presentation Ceremony organized by the Graduate School in Wang Gungwu Lecture Hall, Graduate House. The recipients were selected based on the quality of their thesis and academic performance.



It was delightful that Ms Elley Mao (Honorary Director of the HKU Foundation), Professor Paul K.H. Tam (Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor), Professor Mee Len Chye (Dean of the Graduate School), Professor Dong-Yan Jin (Associate Dean of the Graduate School) and research student supervisors have come to share the joy and honour with our awardees at the Ceremony.



Professor Paul Tam commenced the Ceremony with an opening address, which accentuated the high value the University places on research postgraduate education and recognized the collaborative efforts of staff and students, together with the generosity of donors. The University Postgraduate Fellowship (UPF) is generously supported by the HKU Foundation, the Jessie & George Ho Charitable Foundation, Dr Lee Shau Kee, and the Philip K H Wong Foundation. Since the launch of the UPF Scheme in 2007, 439 outstanding students have been awarded Fellowships. This year, 50 new full-time PhD students with excellent academic records have received the Fellowship from Ms Mao of the HKU Foundation.

10 students who have submitted a thesis of exceptional quality and demonstrated outstanding performance in other academic aspects received the **Award for Outstanding Research Postgraduate Students** from Professor Mee Len Chye.

The highlight of the Ceremony was the presentation of **Li Ka Shing Prizes** to two MPhil and four PhD graduates. The Li Ka Shing prizes are highly competitive and the winners are considered the elite of the School's students. The winners were judged to have submitted the best MPhil and PhD theses in the Humanities and the Science Faculty Groups respectively.

In addition, awardees who have received external prizes, such as the Hong Kong PhD Fellowships, Fulbright-RGC Research Scholar Award Programme and Three Minute Thesis Competition Awards have also attended the Ceremony and received the certificate of recognition from Professor Dong-Yan Jin.

Let's take this opportunity to congratulate our awardees once again.



A group photo of the officiating guests and all award recipients