Graduate School Award Presentation Ceremony 2015

A total of 66 research postgraduate students of various disciplines received awards on December 10, 2015 (Thursday) at the Award Presentation Ceremony organized by the Graduate School in the Rayson Huang Theatre. The recipients were selected based on the quality of their thesis and academic performance.



It was delightful that Mr Tse Sik Yan (Honorary President of the HKU Foundation), Professor Andy Hor (Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)), Professor Ian Holliday (Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning)), Dr Steven J. Cannon (Executive Vice-President (Administration and Finance), Professor Paul Y.S. Cheung (Associate Vice-President (Research)), Professor Nirmala Rao (Dean of the Graduate School), Associate Deans of the Graduate School and research student supervisors have come to share the joy and honour with our awardees at the Ceremony.



Professor Nirmala Rao commenced the Ceremony with an opening address, which accentuated the high value the University places on research postgraduate education and recognized the collaborative efforts of staff and students, together with the generosity of donors. The **University Postgraduate Fellowship** (UPF) is generously supported by the HKU Foundation, the Jessie & George Ho Charitable Foundation, Dr Lee Shau Kee, and the Philip K H Wong Foundation. Since the launch of the UPF Scheme in 2007, 339 outstanding students have been awarded Fellowships. This year, 50 new full-time PhD students with excellent academic records have received the Fellowship from Mr Tse Sik Yan of the HKU Foundation.

10 students who have submitted a thesis of exceptional quality and demonstrated outstanding performance in other academic aspects received the **Awards for Outstanding Research Postgraduate Students** from Professor Nirmala Rao.

The highlight of the Ceremony was the presentation of **Li Ka Shing Prizes** to two MPhil and four PhD graduates. The Li Ka Shing prizes are highly competitive and the winners are considered the elite of the School's students. The winners were judged to have submitted the best MPhil and PhD theses in the Humanities and the Science Faculty Groups respectively.

In addition, awardees who have received external prizes, such as the Hong Kong PhD Fellowships, Croucher Foundation Fellowships/Scholarships, and Three Minute Thesis Competition Awards have also attended the Ceremony and received the certificate of recognition from Professor Paul Cheung.



Let's take this opportunity to congratulate our awardees once again.